Your browser does not support JavaScript

Innovative Pedagogy

The Young India Fellowship attracts the finest academicians, practitioners and experts in the field to the classroom, and gives them the autonomy to innovate, create and craft curricula. This is a rare freedom within academia and ensures an unparalleled teaching and learning experience, not just for YIF, but across all programmes at Ashoka University.

 

The diversity in courses is also reflected in the varied styles of teaching and assessment, which includes discussions, seminars, field visits, presentations and group work. While catering to multiple learning styles, this allows you to learn from a range of perspectives, and prepare yourself to be a critical thinker - a key 21st century skill.

 

Ashoka has institutionalised the Socratic way of teaching: focusing on teaching students how to think rather than just what to think. YIF, as part of the University, encourages students to ask questions rather than just passively absorbing and churning information; and generate debate and discussion around issues rather than imposing a top-down model of knowledge dissemination. At YIF, we want to change your perspective from the standard rote learning pedagogy and introduce in the classroom an innovative and interactive pedagogy which will lead to knowledge creation and creative thinking. 

Courses

The YIF offers a dynamic range of courses every year that are carefully curated and offered by renowned faculty from India and abroad. Each course offering is from a distinct academic or professional domain. Disciplines range from sciences to social sciences and from leadership to the arts. Course offerings include public policy, art appreciation, gender and media studies, leadership, group dynamics, business essentials, Shakespeare, communication, and Indian elections. 

As mentioned in the programme structure, Fellows study a total of 20 courses during the programme (6 core courses and 14 electives, from a pool of 25+). These include, but are not limited to, the following: 
 

YIF Academic Calendar 2019 - 2020

 

 Term  Duration  Dates

 Term 1

 6 Weeks

 Monday, 15th July - Saturday, 24th August, 2019

 Term 2

 6 Weeks

 Monday, 26th August - Thursday, 03rd October, 2019

 ELM Week 1

 10 Days

 Friday, 04th October - Sunday, 13th October, 2019

 Term 3

 6 Weeks

 Monday, 14th October - Saturday, 23rd November, 2019

 Term 4

 4 Weeks

 Monday, 25th November - Sunday, 22nd December, 2019

 Winter Break

 14 Days

 Monday, 23rd December - Sunday, 5th January, 2020

 Term 5

 4 Weeks

 Monday, 06th January - Thursday, 06th February, 2020

 ELM Week 2

 10 Days

 Friday, 7th February - Sunday, 16th February, 2020

 Term 6

 6 Weeks

 Monday, 17th February - Saturday, 28th March, 2020

 Term 7

 6 Weeks

 Monday, 30th March - Saturday, 09th May, 2020

 Term 8

 6 Weeks

 Monday, 11th May - Saturday, 13th June, 2020

 Convocation

 Saturday, 20th June, 2020